Hot Chocolate Sorbet

Last week, I was in Maine looking at colleges. While in the town of Bowdoin, my mother and I came upon this little, rustic-looking gelato store called Gelato Fiasco. At first, we didn’t go in, but then when it became evident that the gelato store was home to the only restroom on the block, we went inside. I started talking with the amiable staff, wondering if they had sorbets.  I supposed that they would have sorbet, because after all it was invented in Italy. Sure enough, they had more then a fair share of sorbets and I didn’t know which to choose. When I thought I had made up my mind, I noticed a chocolate sorbet and promised the clerk that it would be the last one I would taste. The chocolate was out of this world. It was rich, creamy, and best of all, chocolaty! I decided to go for the chocolate sorbet with a little raspberry scoop on top. The combination of flavors was superb and I decided I had to recreate it first thing upon my return home.

My sorbet turned out really well, but not quite as good as Gelato Fiasco’s. I will continue to work on creating the perfect chocolate sorbet, but the recipe below is good enough for now.

1/2 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
1 cup of sugar
2 teaspoons vanilla extract
2 cups of water

  1. Combine all of the ingredients, including the water, in a pot and cook until they have dissolved.
  2. Pour the mixture into a container and place in the refrigerator for a few hours or overnight.
  3. After it is chilled, pour it into an ice cream maker and follow the manufacturer’s instructions.
  4. When it comes out of the ice cream maker, it will be like soft served ice cream, but that is not the consistency you want.
  5. Put it into a container and let it freeze until it becomes firm enough to scoop, about 1 1/2 hours.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

This entry was posted in Chocolate, Dessert, Vegan and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Hot Chocolate Sorbet

  1. hey jonathan,
    what is vegan cane sugar? noticed it in your picture. how is sugar not vegan?

Leave a Reply

