Mediterranean Bulgur and A twist on Asparagus

Yesterday, I had fun in the kitchen teaching people how to cook omelets and scrambled eggs as an afternoon snack and make chocolate chip cookies as a post dinner dessert.  I would say we went through about 27 of our own eggs in less than three hours. Unfortunately, I didn’t take any pictures and have no record of the events so they will have to be repeated in order for me to blog about them.

Today however, I made sure to record my creations. I have not been given the opportunity to design another menu for the school yet but I do get some input as to what dishes I want to serve when I help in the kitchen. Quinoa and rice are staples here and everyone is burnt out with them so I decided to make bugler today, which is a different grain closely related to cracked wheat.  I also found out that we had asparagus so I decided to make that too. I usually keep asparagus really simple and steam it but I know for a fact that this asparagus wasn’t local. Thus, I needed to give it some flavor but still keep it simple.

Mediterranean Bulgur

2 cups fine Bulgur
¼ cup chopped parsley
8-12 sundried tomatoes and the brine
2-3 tablespoons of capers
1 shallot or ½ of a red onion
1-2 cloves of garlic

  1. Rinse the bulgur. Put it in a pot with 3 cups of water. Cook it over a high flame for about 10 minutes.
  2. While the bulgur is cooking, chop the onions, garlic, parsley and sun dried tomatoes.
  3. Now, it is possible that not all of the water will be dissolved but the bulgur will definitely be cooked so; strain it through a mesh strainer.
  4. Put it in a bowl or on a sheet tray and allow it to cool for 10-20 minutes.
  5. Once it is sufficiently cooled, add all of the veggies, 2 tablespoons of the tomato brine, capers, salt and pepper and parsley.
  6. Stir it up, taste it and adjust the seasoning to your liking.

A twist on Asparagus

1 bunch of Asparagus
2-3 tablespoons Neutral oil
Pinch of Salt
Pinch Pepper
½ tablespoon of red wine vinegar

  1. Fold one of the ends of the asparagus. When it snaps off take note of that length and then cut the rest of the ends in accordance with the break of the first stalk. You want all the stalks to have a uniform length.
  2. Heat a pan and coat it with oil.  Once the oil is hot, add the asparagus. You want a nice sear on each side of the stalks and you want them soft, yet crisp.
  3. After the first 2 minutes, turn the heat down and let the asparagus cook for another 2 minutes. Then turn the heat up and flip the asparagus over.  Repeat the process of searing the asparagus and then turning the pan down and then add the vinegar, salt and pepper.
  4. Turn the pan off and serve.  When you serve the asparagus, make sure to pour the juices from the pan over the stalks.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

 

 

This entry was posted in easy, Grains, summer, Vegan. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Mediterranean Bulgur and A twist on Asparagus

  1. Gail Blumenthal says:

    I bought some asparagus for dinner tonight at the Farmers Market. Looks like you were reading my mind.

  2. Gail Blumenthal says:

    Made asparagus for dinner tonight…delicious.

  3. jody truitt says:

    Hi J — sounds good – I will try the asparagus (I am bored with steamed)
    — where is the recipe for the chocolate chip cookies?
    very cool that you are able to cook for everyone there.

Leave a Reply

